Resources

So I started doing a month long thing on Facebook, that is to encourage more costume blogging. I kinda started on day six, but I will make an effort to do the challenge everyday and start getting more out there with my blogging. I am not the best writer, but hopefully with continued practice I will improve, and my style of writing will become smoother.

Today the prompt was write about a favorite resource. I have lots of favorite resources! My number one favorite resource is books….so many books! Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of all my books, and if I wait to get one, I won’t get my blog post for today finished. Some of my favorite books are:

Costume Close-up: Clothing Construction and Pattern, 1750-1790
Book by Florine Carr, John Watson, and Linda Baumgarten

Period Costume for Stage and Screen, by Jean Hunnisett                                                       Several books in this series. I have four or five and want the rest!

The Lady’s Guide to Plain Sewing 1 and 2, and The Workman’s Guide to Tailoring Stitches and Techniques by Kannik’s Korner.
I have many more favorites, but it’s late, and those are the ones that popped into my head first!
For patterns I love the ones from Larkin and Smith at The Sign of the Golden Scissors. They come with a full color instruction books with tons of pictures, and period correct techniques. I love that I can get a workshop in an envelope, out here on the west coast, without flying back east for classes (which I would love to do, but reallllly can’t afford!).
I also really like Truly Victorian patterns, they have so much fitting information and the pieces always match up, and make what the picture on the envelope says they will make! For all sizes, large and small!
Some shops I like to frequent are Burnley and Trowbridge, Wm. Booth Draper, Fabrics-store.com, Sewtrue.com (great for gown pins!), Fugawee, American Duchess (so much to drool over!!!!!), Wearing History…the list goes on!
Those are my favorite resources, but definitely not an exhaustive list by any means. I’m too tired to think of any more, but at least I did a post!! Yay! 🙂
Leave a Reply

