At the Ball!!!

IMG_0586

This lovely lady invited us to the Riverside Dickens Ball. We had a very good time, and I got my dress finished (barely!). It’s not truly finished if you aren’t sewing on the way to the event, right? All I had left was adding the rosettes to the bodice and some lace (I think).

IMG_0596

Fortunately I didn’t have to make all three dresses! Anne had her own, and I found one at work that would work for Gretchen (above, on the left). Gretchen and I have been best friends for over 25 years…gasp! Am I that old? And as it gets harder to spend time together due to school/kid/work schedules, we jumped at the opportunity to dress up and go play! We haven’t had done a photo shoot in ages, and the building was too cool to not take pictures. We got a little carried away, so enjoy the show 😉

IMG_0625

IMG_0646

 Mary Riley made the dress Gretchen is wearing. I believe it’s 1870’s, not 1860’s, but we added another skirt underneath to that it would be long enough for a hoop.

IMG_0634

IMG_0646

We loved the way the light was coming out of this doorway. Then we saw stairs….and we ventured up….

IMG_0672

IMG_0673

And at the top…sang a little opera!

IMG_0665

Inside we found an empty dining room…

IMG_0698

IMG_0707

IMG_0649

And had a little fun!

IMG_0705

IMG_0687

Feeling wistful on the way back out….

IMG_0684

At the bottom of the stairs…on to the next adventure!

IMG_0719

The highlight for Gretchen was meeting Dr. Who! Denver made a great Dr. Who. He had the screwdriver and everything 🙂

IMG_0732

Can’t leave out the hair! Gretchen made the leftover rosettes into pins for me to wear in my hair. They ended up being used by my daughter in her uncles wedding as well!

IMG_0677

 The lovely Anne had her hair done. They did a lovely job! We were all a bit jealous…

 IMG_0591IMG_0590

We had a great time, after all, you are never too old to play dress up with your best friend!

IMG_0676

Leave a Reply

