Calico is finished!

IMG_2641 IMG_2642

Back in May I was asked to do a project for Lane House and Museum in Calico Ghost Town. They wanted authentic clothing that the guests could try on. I, as always, thought sure! That would be a snap! It was supposed to be done by the end of June, but alas, it was finally turned in yesterday, the 25th of August. Now I know to allow more time for a project this large. It took me almost 200 hours, and both of my sisters put in about 24 hours.

The pictures here only represent one outfit. There was a gentleman’s outfit, a working mans outfit, a pair of overalls, a gentlewoman’s outfit, a working woman’s outfit, a girl’s outfit and a boy’s outfit. Whew! All added up it took forever! And I was working full-time, and we ended up moving too.

IMG_2644

Here is the removable collar . This is the second attempt! Below are the removable cuffs, with button cuff links that are stitched to the cuff on one side so they can’t be lost. Abi made the shirt, I just made the collar and cuffs.

IMG_2646IMG_2645

I made my first pair of men’s trousers for this project, which I am very excited about, as that means we no longer need to order them and wait for them to come in when we need them. This pair below is my second pair.

IMG_2649IMG_2650

I added the buttons to the vest from my last post…

IMG_2651 IMG_2652

and made a frock coat! I’m still getting the hang of this tailoring thing, but this is only my 3rd 19th century frock coat. I know it will also improve the looks of our 18th century frock coats the more I learn.

IMG_2653 IMG_2655

Both of the men’s suits with the neckwear. The one on the left is a green silk Ascot, and the one on the right is a black silk handkerchief.

IMG_2657 IMG_2656

I know I am not going to be ready to take on another large project like this for a while (can you say stress?), but I am grateful for all that I have learned working on it, and look forward to implementing some new techniques on future projects.

Leave a Reply

